Please click here to go to the Registration page to learn about the process to register A NEW STUDENT - including kindergarteners - for the 2023-2024 school year. Current students will be able to register in July, while new tuition students will register on June 6. For more information, visit this page.

    For parents filling out In-Zone Transfers, please use this link.

    For parents filling out the Pre-K application, please use this link.

Close alert
Open vision bar

Johnson City Schools announces District-Level Teachers of the Year

Teachers of the Year

Johnson City Schools is proud to announce our 2023-2024 District Level Teachers of the Year. These teachers were honored by their schools as building teachers of the year. The nominees were then reviewed by district-wide committees that included former teachers of the year and administrators.

Kristi Presley of Woodland Elementary was selected as the PreK-4 division winner, while Liberty Bell teacher Nicole Cross won the grades 5-8 division. The 9-12 division winner is Science Hill teacher Jackie Smith.

“Congratulations to these three educators for being named our teachers of the year,” Johnson City Schools Superintendent Steve Barnett said. “These educators are wonderful influences on their students and role models for their colleagues as we ensure an excellent education for all our students. We appreciate their dedication and service to their craft.”

The elementary school building level winners included Gabriel Bilicki-Roy (Cherokee), Leslie Snapp (Fairmont), Rebecca Weems (Lake Ridge), Anna Armstrong (Mountain View), Robin Murphy (North Side), Adrienne Cook (South Side), and Angie Smith (Towne Acres).

At the middle-grade level, the winners included Indian Trail teachers Kelly Lane, Misty Davis and Galina Rozhkova. At Liberty Bell, the teachers honored were Becky Edmisten and Alan Sutphin. The Virtual Academy’s Teacher of the Year was Emily Stevens.

The Science Hill building-level winners included Josh Berry, Jim Brown, Russell Minatel, Jeff Kleven and Larissa Trivette.

Back to School News       Print